SmartGadgetKit Roundup | Chargers
Roundup | Chargers

Best USB-C and USB-A Charger 2026: 6 Dual-Standard Picks

The best usb c and usb a charger keeps one foot in both camps: fast USB-C ports plus a legacy USB-A port. Six chargers ranked for households, travelers and shared desks.

Affiliate disclosure: if you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Best busy-desk stationBest usb c and usb a charger 2026 winner, Anker Prime 200W 6-port charging station

Our top pick

Anker Prime 200W 6-Port Charging Station

★★★★

Anker Prime 200W 6-Port. When one plug is not enough, this is the step up. Four USB-C ports and two USB-A ports share 200W, with each USB-C port able to hit 100W on its own. It is built for a shared desk or family charging corner where several devices all need a home at once.

It is overkill if you only ever charge one or two things, and it is not a travel plug. For a bag, the smaller picks below give you better value.

Good

  • Six ports, four USB-C and two USB-A
  • Up to 100W per USB-C port, enough for a laptop
  • Runs a whole desk from one socket

Watch

  • Overkill if you only charge one or two things
  • Desktop-sized, not a travel plug
Every pick here has both USB-C and USB-A ports, is in stock at the time of writing, and was scored against the same charger rubric. Our verdicts combine hands-on testing by the SGK team with trusted independent lab data, and we show the score on every pick. See how we choose ›

Start here

What are you buying it for?

Every pick below is a use-case winner. Tap the job that fits and the matching charger lights up in the shortlist.

The other five picks at a glance

The winner is above. These five cover the other jobs, from a whole-house all-rounder to a compact travel plug.

UGREEN Nexode 100W GaN charger with three USB-C and one USB-A port Best all-rounder

UGREEN Nexode 100W 4-Port

★★★★

3x USB-C + 1x USB-A

100WTotal
100WOne port
4Ports
3x USB-C + 1x USB-AScore 7.5 / 10
Anker 735 Nano II 65W charger with two USB-C and one USB-A port Best for laptop + phone + legacy

Anker 735 Nano II 65W

★★★★

2x USB-C + 1x USB-A

65WTotal
65WOne port
3Ports
2x USB-C + 1x USB-AScore 7.5 / 10
Anker Prime 67W GaN wall charger with two USB-C and one USB-A port Best compact everyday

Anker Prime 67W

★★★★

2x USB-C + 1x USB-A

67WTotal
67WOne port
3Ports
2x USB-C + 1x USB-AScore 7.5 / 10
Belkin BoostCharge 42W dual wall charger with one USB-C and one USB-A port Best travel

Belkin BoostCharge Dual 42W

★★★★

1x USB-C 30W + 1x USB-A 12W

42WTotal
30WOne port
2Ports
1x USB-C 30W + 1x USB-A 12WScore 7.0 / 10
Anker Zolo 50W charger with two USB-C and two USB-A ports Best value

Anker Zolo 50W 4-Port

★★★★

2x USB-C + 2x USB-A

50WTotal
30WOne port
4Ports
2x USB-C + 2x USB-AScore 7.0 / 10

Compare

Side by side

The same six chargers as a straight spec comparison. Single-port output is the best one port can do on its own; total output is what they share across every port. Stars are editorial; per-product rating markup lives on our standalone reviews, never on a roundup.

PickSingle portTotal outPortsWeight
Best all-rounderUGREEN Nexode 100W 4-Port ★★★★
100W
100W
4
Not stated
Best for laptop + phone + legacyAnker 735 Nano II 65W ★★★★
65W
65W
3
Not stated
Best compact everydayAnker Prime 67W ★★★★
67W
67W
3
Not stated
Best travelBelkin BoostCharge Dual 42W ★★★★
30W
42W
2
Not stated
Best busy-desk stationAnker Prime 200W 6-Port ★★★★
100W
200W
6
Not stated
Best valueAnker Zolo 50W 4-Port ★★★★
30W
50W
4
Not stated

Single-port output tells you what one device gets when it is alone on the charger. Total output is what is shared once every port is busy.

First, the basics

What each port actually does

The two ports are not just different shapes. They do different jobs, and knowing which is which is the whole game.

The two ports aren’t just different shapes. They do different jobs, and knowing which is which is the whole game.

USB-C is the modern port. On these chargers it carries USB Power Delivery, the fast-charging standard a phone, tablet or laptop negotiates for. This is the port that tops a phone up quickly or runs a laptop off a single cable.

USB-A is the older, rectangular port. On a modern charger it’s there for compatibility, not speed. It runs at a lower level of power, often somewhere between 12W and 22.5W depending on the charger, and it doesn’t do full USB Power Delivery. That’s fine for a watch, earbuds, an older phone overnight or an accessory. It’s not the port you want feeding a laptop.

So the rule is easy. Plug the newest, hungriest device into USB-C. Use USB-A for the older cable you never got round to replacing.

Darleene, SGK contributorDarleene asks
“Everything is USB-C now, so why would I still want a USB-A port at all?”

Alisdair’s answer: because most of us have not actually replaced everything. Picture what is in the drawer: the older phone, the watch dock, the earbuds case, the cable that came with a gadget three years ago.

Those are nearly all USB-A. A charger with a USB-A port means all of that keeps working without buying new cables. The day you finally replace the lot, you move over to the USB-C ports and nothing changes.

It is a bridge, and it is a cheap one.

The short version, for Darleene: USB-C is fast and clever, USB-A is slow and loyal. A charger with both means you never have to pick.

Best all-rounder

Best all-rounder: UGREEN Nexode 100W 4-Port (3C+1A, B091N7FVDL)

3x USB-C + 1x USB-A | 100W total

UGREEN Nexode 100W GaN charger with three USB-C and one USB-A port
Ports 3x USB-C + 1x USB-ATotal 100WOne port 100WUSB-A 1
100WSingle port, best one port can deliver
100WTotal output, shared across all ports
4Ports, USB-C plus USB-A
1USB-A ports, for legacy cables

If you want one charger to cover almost everything in the house, this is it. The Nexode 100W gives you three USB-C ports and one USB-A, so a laptop, a phone and a tablet can all pull fast USB-C power while the USB-A port keeps an older cable in play.

It uses GaN internals, a chip material that runs cooler, which is why a 100W charger can be this small instead of the size of an old laptop brick. On its own, one USB-C port drives a mainstream laptop at full speed; plug in more devices and the 100W is shared across them, which is plenty for a household’s everyday mix.

TechGearLab rated the Nexode 100W as a broadly compatible, high-power charger for laptops and multiple devices in its testing. UGREEN is the one brand we partner with directly, so buying through the UGREEN link supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Pros

  • Three USB-C ports plus a USB-A, enough for a whole household
  • 100W runs a mainstream laptop at full speed on its own
  • GaN keeps a 100W charger pocket-sized
  • Buy-direct option from UGREEN

Con

  • Total power is shared across the four ports when they are all in use
Best for laptop + phone + legacy

Best for laptop + phone + legacy: Anker 735 Nano II 65W (2C+1A, A2667, B09C87NLDN)

2x USB-C + 1x USB-A | 65W total

Anker 735 Nano II 65W charger with two USB-C and one USB-A port
Ports 2x USB-C + 1x USB-ATotal 65WOne port 65WUSB-A 1
65WSingle port, best one port can deliver
65WTotal output, shared across all ports
3Ports, USB-C plus USB-A
1USB-A ports, for legacy cables

The Anker 735 is the pocket workhorse. Two USB-C ports handle a laptop and a phone at speed, and the single USB-A port takes the older accessory.

Anker rates it to fast charge up to three devices at once, and either USB-C port can drive a mainstream laptop when it is the only thing plugged in. This is the charger to drop in a carry-on before a long-haul flight.

It runs the laptop on the tray table, tops the phone up, and still has a port for the older cable you inevitably packed. For most people it is the one that leaves the house every day.

Pros

  • Two USB-C ports drive a laptop and a phone at speed
  • USB-A port keeps an older cable useful
  • Pocket-sized GaN body for travel

Con

  • 65W is shared, so a laptop slows if a second device draws hard
Best compact everyday

Best compact everyday: Anker Prime 67W (2C+1A, A2669, B0C4Y1FFQH)

2x USB-C + 1x USB-A | 67W total

Anker Prime 67W GaN wall charger with two USB-C and one USB-A port
Ports 2x USB-C + 1x USB-ATotal 67WOne port 67WUSB-A 1
67WSingle port, best one port can deliver
67WTotal output, shared across all ports
3Ports, USB-C plus USB-A
1USB-A ports, for legacy cables

Close in spirit to the 735, the Prime 67W offers the same useful mix of two USB-C ports and one USB-A in a neat everyday body. It is aimed at the reader who does not need a full 100W but wants a tidy plug for the bag or the family room that still charges three things at once.

GaN keeps it small. Because it sits so close to the 735, there is little reason to own both; pick whichever is easier to get hold of.

Darleene
Darleene’s version“I used to think a spare port was a spare port. Turns out the little rectangular one is the old-cables-still-work port, and the oval one is the charge-my-phone-fast port. That one sentence saved me a lot of confusion.”

Pros

  • Same 2C+1A mix in an even tidier body
  • 67W is plenty for a phone, tablet or mainstream laptop

Cons

  • Sits so close to the 735 that owning both makes little sense
  • Power is shared once all three ports are busy
Best travel

Best travel: Belkin BoostCharge Dual 42W (1C+1A, WCB009myWH, B0CVNBGMGY)

1x USB-C 30W + 1x USB-A 12W | 42W total

Belkin BoostCharge 42W dual wall charger with one USB-C and one USB-A port
Ports 1x USB-C 30W + 1x USB-A 12WTotal 42WOne port 30WUSB-A 1
30WSingle port, best one port can deliver
42WTotal output, shared across all ports
2Ports, USB-C plus USB-A
1USB-A ports, for legacy cables

Sometimes you do not want to think about it. The Belkin 42W gives you exactly one USB-C port and one USB-A port, nothing more to work out.

Belkin rates the USB-C port at up to 30W, enough to fast charge a phone or a small tablet, and the USB-A port at up to 12W for the older cable. That 12W USB-A port is for topping up an accessory, not fast charging a second phone, so know what you are buying.

It is the plug to leave in the travel bag so you always have one of each, whether you are charging a hotel-room phone in Lisbon or a controller on a train.

Pros

  • One of each port, nothing to configure
  • 30W USB-C fast charges a phone or small tablet

Cons

  • USB-A capped at 12W, for accessories not fast charging
  • Only two ports and a lower total power
  • No laptop-class output
Best busy-desk station

Best busy-desk station: Anker Prime 200W 6-Port (4C+2A, A2683, B0D59JNQ9F)

4x USB-C + 2x USB-A | 200W total

Anker Prime 200W 6-port GaN charging station with four USB-C and two USB-A ports
Ports 4x USB-C + 2x USB-ATotal 200WOne port 100WUSB-A 2
100WSingle port, best one port can deliver
200WTotal output, shared across all ports
6Ports, USB-C plus USB-A
2USB-A ports, for legacy cables

When one plug is not enough, this is the step up. The Prime 200W station carries four USB-C ports and two USB-A ports, and Anker rates each USB-C port at up to 100W, so it can run a laptop and still have power to share.

It is built for a shared desk, a family charging corner or a creator setup where several USB-C and USB-A devices all need a home at once. It is overkill if you only ever charge one or two things, where the smaller picks give you better value.

Pros

  • Six ports, four USB-C and two USB-A
  • Up to 100W per USB-C port, enough for a laptop
  • Runs a whole desk from one socket

Cons

  • Overkill if you only charge one or two things
  • Desktop-sized, not a travel plug
Best value

Best value: Anker Zolo 50W 4-Port (2C+2A, A121E, B0G4KCHPW3)

2x USB-C + 2x USB-A | 50W total

Anker Zolo 50W charger with two USB-C and two USB-A ports
Ports 2x USB-C + 2x USB-ATotal 50WOne port 30WUSB-A 2
30WSingle port, best one port can deliver
50WTotal output, shared across all ports
4Ports, USB-C plus USB-A
2USB-A ports, for legacy cables

The Zolo 50W is the sensible middle. Two USB-C ports and two USB-A ports charge up to four devices from one wall outlet, without jumping to a desktop station.

If your household leans heavily on older USB-A cables but you still want a pair of modern USB-C outputs, this is the easy pick. The 50W is shared, so it is built for phones, tablets and accessories rather than fast laptop charging.

Pros

  • Two USB-C and two USB-A, four devices at once
  • Good value without stepping up to a desktop brick

Cons

  • 50W total is modest once several ports are busy
  • USB-A ports are low-power, for accessories only

The bottom line

If you want one charger to do almost everything, the UGREEN Nexode 100W is the pick: three fast USB-C ports, a USB-A port for old cables, and enough power for a laptop.

For a plug that lives in your bag, the Anker 735 covers a laptop, a phone and a legacy device without weighing you down. Travelling light? The Belkin 42W keeps it to one of each.

Running a shared desk? The Anker Prime 200W station has ports to spare. Whichever you choose, the point is the same: one charger, both port types, and no more digging for the right cable.

How to choose a USB-C and USB-A charger

How many ports do you need? Count the things that get charged in the same place at the same time. One device on the move is a single-port job. A phone plus a watch is two. A family corner is four or more. Buy for the busiest moment, not the quietest.

How much power? Match it to your biggest device. A phone or small tablet is happy on 20W to 30W over USB-C. A mainstream laptop wants 45W to 65W, and our best USB-C laptop charger guide goes deeper on that end. If you want to charge a laptop and a phone at full speed together, look at 100W and up so the charger isn’t rationing power between ports.

What does GaN change? GaN, or gallium nitride, is the material inside the newer chargers. It runs cooler and lets the maker pack more power into a smaller, lighter body. Every high-power pick here uses it. It’s why a 100W charger can be barely bigger than an old phone plug.

When does USB-A still matter? Whenever you own cables you don’t want to replace. USB-A is slower and it isn’t Power Delivery, but it’s loyal. As long as that drawer of old cables exists, one USB-A port earns its place.

A note on cables. To get fast charging over USB-C you need a proper USB-C cable rated for the power you want. If you’re unsure what the markings mean, our guide on USB-C cables explained walks through it.

Frequently asked questions

Straight answers to what buyers search for.

Can I use both the USB-C and USB-A ports at the same time?
Yes. Every charger here lets you connect devices to all ports simultaneously. The total wattage splits between active ports, so each device gets less power than it would alone, but all of them charge.
Does wattage drop when I plug into multiple ports?
Yes. A charger rated at 65W delivers that to a single port. Add a second device and the power divides, typically into a 45W and 20W split or similar. The exact numbers vary by model and are shown in the manufacturer’s spec sheet.
Why would I want a USB-A port when USB-C is faster?
Older cables, fitness trackers, certain headphones and e-readers still use USB-A. One USB-A port means you can charge them without hunting for an adapter or a new cable.
Is USB-A slower than USB-C for charging?
Usually, yes. USB-A on these chargers tops out between 12W and 22.5W, while USB-C can deliver 30W to 100W depending on the model. For phones the difference is rarely noticeable, but for laptops and tablets it is significant.
Can a dual-port charger replace my laptop’s original charger?
If the charger’s USB-C port matches or exceeds your laptop’s wattage requirement, yes. Most 13-inch ultrabooks need 30W to 65W. Larger 15 and 16-inch laptops often call for 100W or more, so check the rating before you swap.
What is USB-C Power Delivery?
It is a charging standard that lets a USB-C port negotiate higher wattage, up to 240W in theory. When a charger lists “PD” or “Power Delivery,” it means the USB-C port can talk to your device and agree on the right voltage and current. USB-A ports do not support it.
Are these chargers safe for phones and tablets?
Yes. USB-C Power Delivery is a handshake: your device tells the charger how much power it wants, and the charger delivers only that amount. Plugging a 20W phone into a 100W charger will not harm it, because the phone sets the limit.

Keep reading

The guides that go deeper on each job.

Best GaN charger 2026

Best GaN charger

The better read if you only want raw USB-C power for a laptop.

Best USB-C laptop charger 2026

Best USB-C laptop charger

Goes deeper on the higher-wattage end of laptop charging.

USB-C cables explained

USB-C cables explained

Walks through the cable markings that actually let USB-C run fast.

Best iPhone charger 2026

Best iPhone charger

Another dual-standard roundup for Apple cables and chargers.

UGREEN Nexode 65W travel charger review

UGREEN Nexode 65W review

A single-charger deep-dive with the same 3-port layout.

Best power banks 2026

Best power banks 2026

The wider roundup across every size, from pocket banks to power stations.

Tested by people who use this kit

Our verdicts combine hands-on testing by the SGK team with trusted independent lab data, and we tell you the trade-offs, not only the wins.

Alisdair
Written by AlisdairNetwork engineer, 9 years
Darleene
Everyday perspective: DarleeneEveryday-use contributor

Tags:

SmartGadgetKit
Logo