Travel tech · roundup

10 Best Travel Gadgets 2026: What to Pack in Your Carry-On

Ten pieces of plug-in kit that earn a place in your carry-on, slotted by job rather than ranked as a league table, with every figure attributed to its source.

Affiliate disclosure: if you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Ten picks, slotted by job rather than ranked as a league table. Every hard figure on this page is attributed to its named source, and where only the maker’s rating exists the pick says so. Our verdicts combine hands-on testing by the SGK team with trusted independent lab data.

Quick list: our 10 picks, slotted by job

  1. Anker Prime Power Bank 20K 220W

    Best power bank for a long flight

    Anker Prime Power Bank (20K, 220W)

    140W from one port; the pick if a dead laptop would ruin the trip.

  2. UGREEN MagFlow Magnetic Power Bank 10K 25W

    Best everyday portable charger

    UGREEN MagFlow Magnetic Power Bank 10000mAh 25W

    Snaps on magnetically, 25W rated, 36Wh clears the cabin limit.

  3. UGREEN Nexode Pro 65W GaN charger

    Best GaN wall charger

    UGREEN Nexode Pro 65W 3-Port GaN Charger

    65W with folding prongs; runs a MacBook Air, not a 16-inch Pro.

  4. Anker Zolo 240W braided USB-C cable

    Best USB-C cable

    Anker Zolo USB-C to USB-C Cable (240W, braided)

    240W rated with a 5A e-marker; USB 2.0 data is the honest trade.

  5. Sony WF-1000XM5 noise-cancelling earbuds

    Best compact noise cancelling

    Sony WF-1000XM5

    9h 32min of ANC measured by SoundGuys, in a 1.4 oz case.

  6. TESSAN universal travel adapter 65W

    Best universal travel adapter

    TESSAN Universal Travel Adapter 65W (GaN, PD)

    Four plug types, 65W USB-C PD measured by ZDNET, passes voltage through.

  7. Apple AirTag 2nd generation Bluetooth tracker

    Best Bluetooth tracker

    Apple AirTag (2nd generation)

    Precision Finding at up to 1.5x the range; iPhone and iPad only.

  8. GL.iNet GL-MT3000 Wi-Fi 6 travel router

    Best travel router

    GL.iNet GL-MT3000 (Beryl AX) Wi-Fi 6 Travel Router

    Hotel Wi-Fi, a tethered phone or a USB dongle in; no cellular modem.

  9. Sony WH-1000XM6 over-ear noise-cancelling headphones

    Best noise cancelling overall

    Sony WH-1000XM6

    The best noise cancelling on the page; the case no longer folds.

  10. MUSICOZY Bluetooth sleep mask headphones

    Best sleep mask with built-in speakers

    MUSICOZY Sleep Mask Headphones (100% Blackout 3D)

    100 percent blackout with flat speakers; for rain sounds, not music.

Pack this firstBest travel gadgets 2026
Anker Prime Power Bank 20K 220W

Our top pick

Anker Prime Power Bank (20K, 220W)

★★★★★

How the Prime 20K scores

Charging Speed9.5
Carry Rating7.0
Value for Money8.0
Port & Cable Design8.5

Anker Prime Power Bank (20K, 220W). The ten picks on this page are slotted by job, not ranked as a league table, and this one earns the top slot because a dead laptop or phone on a long flight is the failure that ruins the trip.

It pushes 140W down a single USB-C port, refills itself at 100W, and shows what each port is doing. At 18.0 oz (510 g) it is the heaviest thing on this page, and that is the honest cost of that power.

It scores 8.2 while the Sony WH-1000XM6 below scores 9.0, and we will not hide that: the Sony is the best noise cancelling here. The Prime holds the trophy because power is the one job every other pick on the page quietly depends on.

Good

  • 140W from one USB-C port, fills a large laptop fast
  • 220W total across three ports at once
  • 100W recharge input
  • Display shows the figure for each port

Watch

  • 18.0 oz (510 g), the heaviest pick on this page
  • 39.4 mAh per gram is under the 40 mAh/g line, the honest cost of 140W

Start here

What are you buying it for?

Every pick below wins a job, not a rank; this is a by-job shortlist, not a ranked league. Tap the job that fits and the matching picks light up in the quick list and the cards, with nothing else faded.

The other nine picks at a glance

The winner is above. These nine cover the other jobs; the whole card jumps to its own write-up, and each card already carries its own buy button.

UGREEN MagFlow Magnetic Power Bank 10K 25WBest everyday portable charger

UGREEN MagFlow 10K 25W

★★★★★

Snaps onto a Qi2 phone; no cable to the phone at all.

10,000mAhCapacity
25WMagnetic
36WhWatt-hours
25W rated magnetic Qi2 output36Wh clears the cabin limit easilyUSB-C port for a second device25W needs a 30W or higher adapter you pack yourselfNo independent measured figure exists; all figures are UGREEN’s own
UGREEN Nexode Pro 65W GaN chargerBest GaN wall charger

UGREEN Nexode Pro 65W

★★★★★

65W from one port, folding prongs, runs a MacBook Air.

65WOne port
3Ports
100-240VInput
65W from a single USB-C portFolding prongs and 100 to 240V inputGaN, small enough to disappear in a bagA 16-inch Pro charges slowly, not under loadOne fixed plug shape, no interchangeable heads
Anker Zolo 240W braided USB-C cableBest USB-C cable

Anker Zolo 240W

★★★★★

Full laptop power in double-braided nylon.

240WRated
480MbpsData
5AE-marker
240W rated with a 5A e-markerDouble-braided nylonUSB 2.0 data at 480Mbps is the real weaknessPremium end of the cable class
Sony WF-1000XM5 noise-cancelling earbudsBest compact noise cancelling

Sony WF-1000XM5

★★★★★

The lighter backup when the over-ears stay home.

9h 32mANC measured
0.21 ozPer bud
IPX4Rating
9h 32min of ANC measured by SoundGuys1.4 oz case with wireless chargingLDAC and LC3 among the codecsNot as good overall as the XM6 on this same pageMic weak in noise
TESSAN universal travel adapter 65WBest universal travel adapter

TESSAN 65W GaN

★★★★★

Type C, G, A and I in one block, 65W USB-C PD.

4Plug types
65WUSB-C PD
200+Countries
ZDNET measured the full 65W from one portReplaceable fuse with a spare in the boxCovers the EU, UK, AU and USPasses voltage through, does not convert itNo hair dryers, no travel kettles
Apple AirTag 2nd generation Bluetooth trackerBest Bluetooth tracker

Apple AirTag (2nd gen)

★★★★★

Finds the bag from an iPhone, or now an Apple Watch.

0.42 ozWeight
~1 yrCR2032
IP67Rating
Precision Finding at up to 1.5x the first generationSpeaker about 50 percent louderUser-replaceable battery, about a yeariPhone and iPad only, no Android at all
GL.iNet GL-MT3000 Wi-Fi 6 travel routerBest travel router

GL.iNet Beryl AX

★★★★★

Turns hotel Wi-Fi into a network you control.

AX3000Wi-Fi 6
6.9 ozWeight
<8WPower
WireGuard VPN on OpenWrt, per GL.iNet up to 300MbpsRuns off a power bank, under 8W2.5G WAN plus LAN and USB 3.0No eSIM and no cellular modem; needs a source of internet
Sony WH-1000XM6 over-ear noise-cancelling headphonesBest noise cancelling overall

Sony WH-1000XM6

★★★★★

The best noise cancelling on this page, if you can live with the bulk.

30hANC, Sony rating
12Mics read
9.0Expert score
What Hi-Fi calls it the class leader for ANC and sound30 hours ANC-on, Sony’s own ratingTwo-device multipoint, LDAC and LC3Big and chunky on a plane; the case no longer folds
MUSICOZY Bluetooth sleep mask headphonesBest sleep mask with built-in speakers

MUSICOZY Sleep Mask GH01

★★★★★

For falling asleep to rain sounds, not for music.

100%Blackout
16hRated playtime
BT 5.4Speakers
100 percent blackout with no pressure on the eyesFlat speakers that work for side sleepersHand or machine washableAudio is a 6.5; this is for audiobooks and rain16 hours is the maker’s own rating

Compare

The best travel gadgets, side by side

The same ten picks as a reference table, the format answer engines quote most. Scroll sideways on a phone; where a maker publishes no weight or size, the cell reads Not stated rather than a guess.

Best travel gadgets 2026, slotted by job
PickThe job it doesExpert scoreWhat it weighs or how big it isThe one number that mattersCarry-on note
Anker Prime Power Bank (20K, 220W)Best power bank for a long flight8.218.0 oz (510 g)140W from one USB-C port72.36Wh, under the 100Wh cabin limit
UGREEN MagFlow 10K 25WBest everyday portable charger8.5Not stated25W magnetic Qi2 output36Wh, well under the cabin limit
UGREEN Nexode Pro 65WBest GaN wall charger8.5Not stated65W from a single USB-CNo battery inside
Anker Zolo 240WBest USB-C cable7.5Not stated240W rated power deliveryNo battery inside
Sony WF-1000XM5Best compact noise cancelling8.50.21 oz (5.9 g) per bud9h 32min ANC playback, measured by SoundGuysDevice with installed battery
TESSAN 65W adapterBest universal travel adapter8.3Not stated65W USB-C PD, measured by ZDNETNo battery inside
Apple AirTag (2nd gen)Best Bluetooth tracker8.50.42 oz (11.8 g)Precision Finding at up to 1.5x rangeCR2032 installed, good for about a year
GL.iNet Beryl AXBest travel router8.26.9 oz (196 g), 4.2 x 3.3 x 1.3 in (106 x 83 x 33 mm)AX3000, 2402Mbps on 5GHzNo battery, runs from USB power
Sony WH-1000XM6Best noise cancelling overall9.0Not stated30 hours ANC-on, Sony’s own ratingDevice with installed battery
MUSICOZY sleep maskBest sleep mask with built-in speakers7.0Not stated16 hours rated playtime, MUSICOZY’s ownDevice with installed battery

How we tested these. Our verdicts combine hands-on testing by the SGK team with trusted independent lab data.

SGK owns none of the ten products on this page. Every hard performance figure in the picks below is attributed inline to its named source: Portable Power Backup, SoundGuys, ZDNET, CNN Underscored, RTINGS, What Hi-Fi and Tech Inspection.

Where only the maker’s rating exists, the pick says whose rating it is: Sony’s 30 hours, GL.iNet’s VPN throughput, MUSICOZY’s 16 hours. Alisdair, a network engineer with 9 years behind him, leads the work, with Darleene co-signing.

Darleene, SGK contributorDarleene asks
“I’m on a red-eye next month. Do I take the sleep mask or the earbuds? I genuinely can’t decide.”

Alisdair’s answer: it depends which one is keeping you awake. If it is the noise, take the earbuds; SoundGuys measured 9 hours 32 minutes of ANC on the WF-1000XM5, which covers any overnight flight.

If it is the light, take the mask. The MUSICOZY blocks 100 percent of it, and the flat speakers still work when you are on your side, which is where most masks fail.

If it is both, pack the earbuds and an eye mask you already own; that is the lighter bag. Just remember the mask is for rain sounds and audiobooks, not music.

Pick 01Best power bank for a long flight

Best power bank for a long flight: Anker Prime Power Bank (20K, 220W)

The one thing to pack if you pack nothing else.

Anker Prime Power Bank 20K 220W
Capacity 20,100mAh / 72.36WhOne port 140WTotal out 220WWeight 18.0 oz (510 g)

How the Prime 20K scores

Charging Speed9.5
Carry Rating7.0
Value for Money8.0
Port & Cable Design8.5

One port

140W

Fills a 16-inch laptop at full speed

Source: Anker’s own rating

To 50 percent

28 min

On a 16-inch MacBook Pro (M4 Pro) over a 5A cable

Source: Portable Power Backup

Total out

220W

Across 2x USB-C plus 1x USB-A at once

Source: Anker’s own rating

Under the limit

72.36Wh

Comfortably inside the 100Wh cabin limit

Source: Portable Power Backup, not Anker’s page

Model A110B, 20,100mAh, 72.36Wh. Three ports share a 220W ceiling: 140W max from a single USB-C, 22.5W from the USB-A, and a 100W recharge input.

Portable Power Backup pushed 140W to a 16-inch MacBook Pro (M4 Pro) on a 5A cable and reached 50 percent in 28 minutes. That is the difference between a laptop that survives a long flight and one that does not.

It is 18.0 oz (510 g) and 1.7 x 2.0 x 5.8 in (44 x 50 x 147 mm), with a per-port display showing what each port is doing. Power-to-weight works out to 39.4 mAh per gram, under the 40 mAh/g line, and it is the heaviest thing on this page; that is the honest cost of 140W.

The 72.36Wh sits comfortably under the 100Wh airline cabin limit. That watt-hour figure comes from the independent review, not from Anker’s own page, and it is the number a gate agent can actually check.

The measured line: Portable Power Backup pushed 140W to a 16-inch MacBook Pro (M4 Pro) on a 5A cable and reached 50 percent in 28 minutes.

Airline: 72.36Wh, inside the usual 100Wh carry-on limit. Always check your airline.

Good

  • 140W from one USB-C port, fills a large laptop fast
  • 220W total across three ports at once
  • 100W recharge input
  • Per-port display shows which cable is the fast one

Watch

  • 18.0 oz (510 g), the heaviest pick on this page
  • 39.4 mAh/g under the 40 line; that bulk is the honest cost of 140W

Pick 02Best everyday portable charger

Best everyday portable charger: UGREEN MagFlow Magnetic Power Bank 10000mAh 25W

Small enough to forget, strong enough to matter.

UGREEN MagFlow Magnetic Power Bank 10K 25W
Capacity 10,000mAh / 36WhOutput 25W magnetic Qi2Ports 1x USB-C plus magnetic padCells 2 in series at 7.2V

How the MagFlow 10K scores

Charging Speed9.0
Carry Rating7.5
Value for Money8.5
Port & Cable Design9.0

Magnetic output

25W

Rated Qi2 output; needs a 30W or higher adapter to reach it

Source: UGREEN’s own rating

Capacity

10,000mAh

Refills a phone comfortably; the everyday size

Source: UGREEN’s own rating

Watt-hours

36Wh

Clears the 100Wh cabin limit by a wide margin

Source: UGREEN’s own rating, 7.2V cells in series

Qi2 baseline

15W

What plain Qi2 tops out at; the 25W rating sits above it

Source: the Qi2 specification

Model PB773, 10,000mAh, 36Wh. The pack is two cells in series at 7.2V, which is why the figure is 36Wh and never 37Wh; the 10,000mAh at 3.7V arithmetic that circulates on third-party spec tables does not apply to this unit.

It snaps to the back of a Qi2 phone and charges at up to 25W, with one USB-C port alongside the magnetic pad. Qi2 itself tops out at 15W, this unit is rated 25W by UGREEN, and reaching that rating needs a 30W or higher adapter; a phone’s own charging figure is never rounded up to the charger’s rating.

No independent measured figure exists for this unit, so every number here is UGREEN’s own rating and we make no measured claim. This is the everyday portable charger: small enough to forget in a pocket, strong enough to refill a phone comfortably, and clear of the cabin limit at 36Wh.

Airline: 36Wh, far inside the usual 100Wh carry-on limit. Always check your airline.

Good

  • Snaps on magnetically, no cable to the phone
  • USB-C port charges a second device
  • 36Wh clears the 100Wh cabin limit easily

Watch

  • 25W needs a 30W or higher adapter you pack yourself
  • No independent measured figure exists; all figures are UGREEN’s own

Pick 03Best GaN wall charger

Best GaN wall charger: UGREEN Nexode Pro 65W 3-Port GaN Charger

The smallest way to carry serious wattage.

UGREEN Nexode Pro 65W GaN charger
Output 65W totalOne port 65WPorts 2x USB-C plus 1x USB-AInput 100 to 240V

How the Nexode Pro scores

Charging Speed7.5
Portability9.0
Travel Versatility9.5
Value for Money8.0

Single USB-C

65W

The whole 65W from one port, not split

Source: UGREEN’s own rating

Ports

2 + 1

Two USB-C plus one USB-A for older kit

Source: UGREEN’s own rating

Input range

100-240V

Covers most of the world with GaN inside

Source: UGREEN’s own rating

Best partner

Air, not Pro

Runs a MacBook Air at full speed; a 16-inch Pro charges slowly

Source: our call, from the 65W ceiling

Model CD381, 65W total, and 65W from a single USB-C port. Two USB-C ports, one USB-A, GaN inside, 100 to 240V input and folding prongs.

This is the wall charger that runs a MacBook Air at full speed. It will charge a 16-inch Pro slowly, and under a heavy load it may hold steady rather than build, so the job it does is everything up to a thin laptop.

The plug shape is fixed. There are no interchangeable plug heads, whatever an older listing claimed, so pair it with the universal adapter below when the wall socket is not a US one.

It sits at the premium end of the GaN class, and the travel versatility bar of 9.5 reflects the brief here: one small block, folding prongs, three ports, most of the world’s voltage.

Good

  • 65W from a single USB-C port
  • Folding prongs that will not scratch a laptop
  • 100 to 240V input covers most of the world

Watch

  • A 16-inch Pro charges slowly, not under load
  • One fixed plug shape, no interchangeable heads

Pick 04Best USB-C cable

Best USB-C cable: Anker Zolo USB-C to USB-C Cable (240W, braided)

Full laptop power, in nylon that survives a bag.

Anker Zolo 240W braided USB-C cable
Rating 240WData USB 2.0, 480MbpsE-marker 5ABuild Double-braided nylon

How the Zolo 240W scores

Power Delivery9.0
Data Performance5.0
Build Quality8.5
Value for Money7.5

Power rating

240W

Carries full laptop power all day

Source: Anker’s own rating

Data ceiling

480Mbps

USB 2.0; the cable’s real weakness, stated plainly

Source: the USB 2.0 specification

E-marker

5A

The chip that makes 240W negotiation possible

Source: Anker’s own rating

Build

Double braid

Nylon over both conductors, made for bags and drawers

Source: Anker’s own listing

Model A8060, rated 240W with a 5A e-marker, in double-braided nylon. It carries full laptop power all day and shrugs off a bag pocket.

The weakness is data, and it is a real one: USB 2.0 at 480Mbps. Moving photos or video off a phone over this cable crawls, so treat it as a power cable that happens to pass files, not the other way round.

SGK does not own this cable and has not tested it; a live page once claimed otherwise and was corrected. Every figure here is Anker’s own rating.

On value it sits at the premium end of the USB-C cable class. What the money buys is the double braid and the 5A e-marker, and against the Belkin BoostCharge 240W it is the better braid.

Good

  • 240W rated with a 5A e-marker
  • Double-braided nylon build
  • Charges a laptop at full speed

Watch

  • USB 2.0 data at 480Mbps is slow for files
  • Premium end of the cable class

Pick 05Best compact noise cancelling

Best compact noise cancelling: Sony WF-1000XM5

The lighter backup when the over-ears stay home.

Sony WF-1000XM5 noise-cancelling earbuds
Per bud 0.21 oz (5.9 g)Case 1.4 oz (39 g)Rating IPX4Bluetooth 5.3, two-device multipoint

How the WF-1000XM5 scores

Noise Cancelling9.0
Battery and Charging8.5
Travel-Friendliness and Portability9.0
Comfort and Fit for Long Wear7.5

ANC playback

9h 32m

Measured ANC-on playback, past Sony’s own 8-hour claim

Source: SoundGuys

Per bud

0.21 oz

5.9 g per bud, 1.4 oz (39 g) with the case

Source: Sony’s own spec

Codecs

SBC/AAC/LDAC/LC3

Bluetooth 5.3 with two-device multipoint

Source: Sony’s own spec

Case charging

Wireless

The case charges wirelessly, IPX4 on the buds themselves

Source: Sony’s own spec

The WF-1000XM5 is 0.21 oz (5.9 g) per bud and 1.4 oz (39 g) with the case. IPX4, Bluetooth 5.3 with two-device multipoint, and the case charges wirelessly.

SoundGuys measured 9 hours 32 minutes of ANC-on playback on a single charge, past Sony’s own 8-hour claim. Codecs run SBC, AAC, LDAC and LC3.

On the six-criterion headphone rubric, the two bars not shown here are Sound Quality at 8.5 and Calls, App and Connectivity at 7.5, where the mic falls well short of the over-ear model in noise.

The honest cons: it is not as good overall as the WH-1000XM6 on this same page, IPX4 is splash resistance only, and the mic is weak in a noisy cabin.

One more thing, said plainly: SGK owns the WH-1000XM5 over-ear, which is a different product and not on this page. There is no first-person claim here; the figures are Sony’s own specs and SoundGuys’ measurement.

The measured line: SoundGuys measured 9 hours 32 minutes of ANC-on playback on a single charge, past Sony’s own 8-hour claim.

Good

  • 9h 32min of ANC measured by SoundGuys
  • 1.4 oz case with wireless charging
  • LDAC and LC3 among the codecs

Watch

  • Not as good overall as the WH-1000XM6 on this page
  • IPX4 only, splash resistance
  • Mic weak in noise

Pick 06Best universal travel adapter

Best universal travel adapter: TESSAN Universal Travel Adapter 65W (GaN, PD)

One block for the EU, UK, AU and US, with 65W USB-C PD.

TESSAN universal travel adapter 65W
Plugs Type C, G, A and IUSB-C PD 65WAC 100 to 250V, 10A, 2500W maxFuse 250V 10A, replaceable, spare in box

How the TESSAN 65W scores

Country Coverage9.0
Charging Speed8.5
Safety Certifications7.5
Value for Money8.0

Plug types

C, G, A, I

Slide out of one block: EU, UK, AU and US, 200-plus countries

Source: TESSAN’s own listing

USB-C PD

65W

The full 65W measured from a single port

Source: ZDNET, on 240V and 110V input

Ports in use

45W

From USB-C with four ports running at once

Source: ZDNET

Fuse

250V 10A

Replaceable, with a spare in the box

Source: TESSAN’s own listing

Model TS-WTA05. Type C, G, A and I plugs slide out of one block, covering the EU, UK, AU and US and more than 200 countries, with GaN and 65W USB-C PD.

The AC side is rated 100 to 250V, 10A, 2500W max, and the fuse is a replaceable 250V 10A with a spare in the box.

ZDNET, Adrian Kingsley-Hughes, tested it on both 240V and 110V input and measured the full 65W from a single USB-C port, and 45W from a USB-C port with four ports in use.

Now the one thing buyers get wrong about this category. It passes voltage through; it does not convert it. A 110V-only hair dryer on a 230V wall will die, and a 230V kettle on 110V will barely warm, so leave heat appliances at home.

The certification story is thinner than the big-brand wall chargers, which is why Safety Certifications sits at 7.5 while country coverage runs 9.0.

The measured line: ZDNET (Adrian Kingsley-Hughes) tested it on both 240V and 110V input and measured the full 65W from a single USB-C port, and 45W from a USB-C port with four ports in use.

Good

  • Four plug types in one block, 200-plus countries
  • ZDNET measured the full 65W from one port
  • Replaceable fuse with a spare in the box

Watch

  • Passes voltage through, does not convert it; no hair dryers, no travel kettles
  • Certification story thinner than the big brands, hence the 7.5 bar

Pick 07Best Bluetooth tracker

Best Bluetooth tracker: Apple AirTag (2nd generation)

Finds the bag from an iPhone, or now an Apple Watch.

Apple AirTag 2nd generation Bluetooth tracker
Weight 0.42 oz (11.8 g)Battery CR2032, about a yearRating IP67Extra NFC for Lost Mode

How the AirTag scores

Finding Accuracy9.5
Network Coverage9.5
Battery and Durability8.5
Platform Fit6.5

Finding range

Up to 1.5x

Precision Finding range versus the first generation, now from Apple Watch too

Source: CNN Underscored

Speaker

~50% louder

About 50 percent louder than the first generation

Source: CNN Underscored

Battery

~1 year

User-replaceable CR2032, about a year

Source: Apple’s own rating

Weight

0.42 oz

11.8 g; IP67 is splash and rain, not swimming

Source: Apple’s own spec

The AirTag works with iPhone and iPad only. There is no Android version at all, and that single fact is why Platform Fit scores 6.5 while every other bar on this pick sits at 8.5 or higher.

Model A2937, the second generation, single pack. This is not the four-pack and not the discontinued first generation.

The second-generation Ultra Wideband chip gives Precision Finding at up to 1.5 times the first generation’s range, now from an Apple Watch as well as an iPhone, and the speaker is about 50 percent louder. The battery is a user-replaceable CR2032 good for about a year, and the tag is IP67, which is splash and rain rather than swimming.

At 0.42 oz (11.8 g) with NFC for Lost Mode, it disappears on a strap, in a wallet or inside a bag.

The reported line: CNN Underscored reports the second generation adds a second-gen Ultra Wideband chip, a speaker about 50 percent louder, and Precision Finding on Apple Watch, with up to 1.5x the finding range of the original.

Good

  • Precision Finding at up to 1.5x the first generation
  • Speaker about 50 percent louder
  • User-replaceable battery, about a year

Watch

  • iPhone and iPad only; no Android at all
  • IP67 is splash and rain, not swimming

Pick 08Best travel router

Best travel router: GL.iNet GL-MT3000 (Beryl AX) Wi-Fi 6 Travel Router

Turns hotel Wi-Fi into a network you control.

GL.iNet GL-MT3000 Wi-Fi 6 travel router
Speed AX3000, 2402Mbps plus 574MbpsPorts 1x 2.5G WAN, 1x 1G LAN, 1x USB 3.0Weight 6.9 oz (196 g)Power USB-C 5V/3A, under 8W

How the Beryl AX scores

Wireless Performance8.5
Connectivity and Ports7.0
VPN and Security8.5
Carry and Power9.0

5GHz

2402Mbps

Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) AX3000, plus 574Mbps on 2.4GHz

Source: GL.iNet’s own rating

Weight

6.9 oz

196 g, 4.2 x 3.3 x 1.3 in (106 x 83 x 33 mm)

Source: GL.iNet’s own spec

Power

Under 8W

USB-C 5V/3A, so a power bank keeps it alive

Source: GL.iNet’s own spec

VPN

300Mbps

WireGuard up to 300Mbps, OpenVPN up to 150Mbps, on OpenWrt

Source: GL.iNet’s own figures, no independent VPN measurement exists

The Beryl AX is a Wi-Fi 6 travel router, AX3000 class: 2402Mbps on 5GHz and 574Mbps on 2.4GHz, on a MediaTek MT7981B dual-core 1.3GHz with 512MB of DDR4.

The job: it gets online from hotel Wi-Fi, a tethered phone or a USB cellular dongle, and shares that connection with everything you carry. It has no built-in eSIM and no cellular modem of its own, which belongs in the cons as much as here.

Ports are 1x 2.5G WAN, 1x 1G LAN and 1x USB 3.0 Type-A. RTINGS found the Beryl AX delivers good performance for its size, with decent range, and is unusually actively cooled for a travel router.

It is 6.9 oz (196 g), 4.2 x 3.3 x 1.3 in (106 x 83 x 33 mm), and runs from USB-C at 5V/3A, under 8W, so a power bank keeps it alive through a long day.

VPN is the other reason to pack it. WireGuard runs up to 300Mbps and OpenVPN up to 150Mbps on OpenWrt, and both figures are GL.iNet’s own; no independent VPN throughput measurement exists.

The reported line: RTINGS found the Beryl AX delivers good performance for its size, with decent range, and is unusually actively cooled for a travel router.

Good

  • WireGuard VPN on OpenWrt, per GL.iNet up to 300Mbps
  • Runs off a power bank at under 8W
  • 2.5G WAN plus LAN and USB 3.0 in a 6.9 oz box

Watch

  • No built-in eSIM and no cellular modem; needs a source of internet
  • VPN figures are GL.iNet’s own, not independently measured

Pick 09Best noise cancelling overall

Best noise cancelling overall: Sony WH-1000XM6

The best silence on this page, if you can live with the bulk.

Sony WH-1000XM6 over-ear noise-cancelling headphones
Battery 30 hours ANC-on, Sony’s own ratingProcessor QN3 HD, 12 micsCodecs SBC/AAC/LDAC/LC3Multipoint Two devices

How the WH-1000XM6 scores

Noise Cancelling9.5
Sound Quality9.0
Battery and Charging9.0
Travel-Friendliness and Portability9.0

Battery

30 hours

ANC-on, which is Sony’s own rating, not an independent measurement

Source: Sony’s own rating

Verdict

Class leader

What Hi-Fi calls it the class leader for noise cancelling and for sound, better than the rival Bose

Source: What Hi-Fi

ANC hardware

QN3 HD, 12 mics

The QN3 HD processor reading 12 microphones

Source: Sony’s own spec

Case

No fold

It no longer folds, so the case is bulky on a plane

Source: Sony’s own design

The WH-1000XM6 is the best noise cancelling on this page, full stop. What Hi-Fi rates it the class leader for noise cancelling and for sound, calling them better than the rival Bose.

The QN3 HD Noise Cancelling Processor reads 12 microphones, and the battery is rated at 30 hours with ANC on, which is Sony’s own figure. Codecs run SBC, AAC, LDAC and LC3 with two-device multipoint.

On the six-criterion headphone rubric, the two bars not shown are Comfort and Fit for Long Wear at 8.5, where the ears warm on long sessions, and Calls, App and Connectivity at 8.5.

It no longer folds, so the case is bulky. On a plane it is big and chunky, and it takes bag room the earbuds above do not; a winner if you can live with the bulk, and the wrong shape if you pack light.

It scores 9.0 against the winner’s 8.2, and that is correct, because this page slots by job. The top slot went to the Anker Prime because a dead laptop or phone on a long flight is the failure that ruins the trip.

The reported line: What Hi-Fi rates the WH-1000XM6 the class leader for noise cancelling and for sound, calling them better than the rival Bose.

Good

  • What Hi-Fi calls it the class leader for ANC and sound
  • 30 hours ANC-on, Sony’s own rating
  • Two-device multipoint, LDAC and LC3

Watch

  • Big and chunky on a plane; the case no longer folds
  • Takes bag room the WF-1000XM5 earbuds do not

Pick 10Best sleep mask with built-in speakers

Best sleep mask with built-in speakers: MUSICOZY Sleep Mask Headphones (100% Blackout 3D)

For falling asleep to rain sounds, not for music.

MUSICOZY Bluetooth sleep mask headphones
Blackout 100 percentPlaytime 16 hours, MUSICOZY’s own ratingSpeakers Bluetooth 5.4, ultra-thin flatCare Hand or machine washable

How the MUSICOZY scores

Blackout and Comfort8.5
Audio Quality6.5
Battery Life6.0
Build and Care7.0

Blackout

100 percent

3D contoured, no pressure on the eyes, works for side sleepers

Source: MUSICOZY’s own rating

Rated playtime

16 hours

MUSICOZY’s own figure, the maker’s rating

Source: MUSICOZY’s own rating

Independent use

2 to 3 nights

Per charge at moderate volume, in independent use reports

Source: Tech Inspection

Speakers

BT 5.4 flat

Ultra-thin flat speakers in the headband, hook-and-loop adjustment

Source: MUSICOZY’s own spec

The MUSICOZY GH01 is a sleep eye mask with ultra-thin flat Bluetooth 5.4 speakers in the headband. It is 3D contoured for 100 percent blackout with no pressure on the eyes, works for side sleepers, adjusts with hook-and-loop, and the cotton blend and silk cover is hand or machine washable.

It is for falling asleep to rain sounds or an audiobook, not for listening to music; the Audio Quality bar sits at 6.5 for a reason.

Every spec figure on this pick is MUSICOZY’s own. The rated playtime is 16 hours, the maker’s figure, while independent use reports from Tech Inspection put it nearer two or three nights per charge at moderate volume; both are printed above and labelled.

SGK owns none of the ten products on this page, and this one is no exception. The only independent reading we have is the battery one, and we claim nothing more.

The independent line: independent use reports (Tech Inspection) put it nearer two or three nights per charge at moderate volume, against the maker’s own 16-hour rating.

Good

  • 100 percent blackout with no eye pressure
  • Flat speakers that still work for side sleepers
  • Hand or machine washable

Watch

  • Audio is a 6.5; this is for rain sounds and audiobooks, not music
  • Battery bar 6.0: 16 hours is the maker’s own rating, independent use says two to three nights

The bottom line

Buy the Anker Prime 20K 220W if you pack one thing. It is the pick whose failure would actually ruin the trip, and at 72.36Wh it clears the cabin limit with room to spare.

Buy the UGREEN MagFlow for everyday phone top-ups, the Nexode Pro 65W as the wall charger, and the Zolo 240W cable to join them.

Fly often: the Sony WH-1000XM6 for silence, the WF-1000XM5 when the bag is small, the TESSAN for the wall socket, and the AirTag so the bag itself is findable.

The Beryl AX turns bad hotel Wi-Fi into a network you control, and the MUSICOZY mask is the pick for anyone who cannot sleep in a lit cabin.

Ten picks, slotted by job rather than ranked as a league, every figure attributed to its source above.

Airline and plug rules, in plain English

Airlines limit lithium by energy, not capacity. The common cabin limit is 100Wh per battery without asking, and both power banks on this page clear it: the Anker Prime at 72.36Wh and the MagFlow at 36Wh.

Loose lithium travels in the cabin, never in the hold. A power bank in checked luggage can be removed from your bag or the bag refused, so both banks belong in the bag under the seat in front.

A plug adapter is not a voltage converter. The TESSAN passes the wall voltage straight through, which is why phones, laptops and GaN chargers are fine behind it and heat appliances are not; a hair dryer or travel kettle needs a true converter or a dual-voltage design.

The full rules, with the limits for larger batteries, live in our guide to taking a power bank on a plane.

Darleene
Darleene’s takeThe watt-hour number is the one the airline cares about, not the big number on the front. Both banks here are fine; my hair dryer is not, and now I know why.

How to choose travel gadgets

This is a by-job shortlist, not a ranked league, and these four numbers are the ones that decide which job each pick does best. Every figure below already appears in a pick above, with its source.

Hard limit

Watt-hours

Can it go in your carry-on?

100Wh

The common cabin limit without asking the airline; both banks here clear it.

Source: airline cabin rules, covered above

Threshold

Single-port output

Will it charge the laptop?

140W

What the Anker Prime gives one USB-C port; a 16-inch laptop wants 100W or more.

Source: Anker’s own rating, pick 1

Cabin test

ANC playback

Will the earbuds last the flight?

9h 32m

Measured ANC-on playback on the WF-1000XM5, past Sony’s own 8-hour claim.

Source: SoundGuys, pick 5

Wall test

Adapter output

Will one block charge everything?

65W

ZDNET measured the full 65W from a single USB-C port on the TESSAN.

Source: ZDNET, pick 6

Frequently asked questions

Straight answers to the six questions buyers search for.

Can I take a power bank in my carry-on bag?
Yes, and that is the only place it goes: spare lithium batteries and power banks travel in cabin baggage, never in the hold. A power bank found in checked luggage can be removed or the bag refused.
How many mAh is allowed on a plane?
Airlines set the limit in watt-hours, not mAh: 100Wh in the cabin without asking, and up to 160Wh with the airline’s approval. The 20,100mAh Anker Prime on this page is 72.36Wh, well inside.
Do I need a voltage converter or just a plug adapter?
For phones, laptops and GaN chargers a plug adapter is enough, because modern chargers run on 100 to 240V. Only heat appliances like hair dryers and travel kettles need a true voltage converter, and the TESSAN here passes voltage through rather than converting it.
Will a 65W GaN charger charge my laptop?
Yes, if the laptop charges over USB-C at 65W or less; a MacBook Air runs at full speed from the Nexode Pro here. A 16-inch laptop will charge slowly and may hold steady rather than build charge under heavy load.
Do AirTags work internationally?
Yes. An AirTag relays its location through nearby iPhones on the Find My network, which spans most countries a traveler will visit. You need an iPhone or iPad of your own; there is no Android support at all.
What is the one travel tech item worth packing if you pack nothing else?
A power bank, specifically the Anker Prime 20K 220W at the top of this page. A dead phone or laptop on a long travel day is the failure that ruins the trip, and its 72.36Wh clears the cabin limit with room to spare.

Keep reading

The guides that go deeper on each job.

Travel Tech: Best Travel Gadgets for 2026

Travel Tech: Best Travel Gadgets for 2026

The travel tech hub: every flight-friendly guide in one place.

Best Power Bank for Travel 2026: 6 Airline-Safe Picks

Best Power Bank for Travel 2026: 6 Airline-Safe Picks

The deeper power bank shortlist, every pick with a printed watt-hour figure.

Best Travel Headphones 2026: 8 Picks for Flights and Trains

Best Travel Headphones 2026: 8 Picks for Flights and Trains

The six-criterion headphone rubric in full, on the picks that carry it.

Best Travel Charger 2026: 5 Proven GaN Picks Compared

Best Travel Charger 2026: 5 Proven GaN Picks Compared

GaN wall chargers compared, from 65W singles to multi-port blocks.

Can You Take a Power Bank on a Plane? Quick 2026 Rules

Can You Take a Power Bank on a Plane? Quick 2026 Rules

The 100Wh cabin rule in plain English, and what happens at the gate.

Best GaN Charger 2026: Compact USB-C Travel Picks

Best GaN Charger 2026: Compact USB-C Travel Picks

The wider GaN roundup for every kind of trip and every kind of bag.

Packed by people who use this kit

Our verdicts combine hands-on testing by the SGK team with trusted independent lab data, and every figure on this page is attributed to its named source.

Alisdair
Written by AlisdairNetwork engineer, 9 years
Darleene
Co-signed by DarleeneNurse, professional sceptic

Tags:

SmartGadgetKit
Logo